{New Releases} September 3-9, 2018

On The Other Side of Freedom by:DeRay McKesson From the internationally recognized civil rights activist/organizer and host of the podcast Pod Save the People, a meditation on resistance, justice, and freedom, and an intimate portrait of a movement from the front lines. In August of 2014, twenty-nine-year-old activist DeRay Mckesson stood with hundreds of others…

{New Releases} August 27-Sept 2, 2018

Standing Our Ground by:Lucia Kay McBath From the national spokesperson for Everytown for Gun Safety and leading gun violence prevention advocate comes the riveting memoir of a mother’s loss and call to action, as well as a faith-based exploration of how the nation’s gun laws put a deadly target on American lives. Lucia Kay McBath…

Are You Releasing A Book This Fall?

Calling All Authors and Publishers! Are You Releasing A Book This Fall? Are you a black author or write about black subjects? Let Us Know when you are publishing your book.

{New Releases} August 20-26, 2018

A Stallion Dream by:Deborah Fletcher Mello Has this Stallion met his match… In and out of the courtroom? Collin Stallion plans to give back to the community by volunteering to exonerate someone wrongfully convicted of crime. His partner in the high-profile case—powerhouse attorney London Jacobs—isn’t impressed by the seductive bachelor. Until passion ignites. But with…

{New Releases} August 13-19, 2018

Up From Freedom by:Wayne Grady For readers of Colson Whitehead, James McBride, Yaa Gyasi and Lawrence Hill, Up From Freedom is a powerful and emotional novel about the dangers that arise when we stay silent in the face of prejudice or are complicit in its development. As a young man, Virgil Moody vowed he would…

{New Releases} August 6-12, 2018

She Begat This by:Joan Morgan Celebrate the twentieth anniversary of the acclaimed and influential debut album The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill with this eye-opening and moving exploration of Lauryn Hill and her remarkable artistic legacy. Released in 1998, Lauryn Hill’s first solo album is often cited by music critics as one of the most important…

{New Releases} June 25-July 1, 2018

White Fragility by:Robin Diangelo Groundbreaking book exploring the counterproductive reactions white people have when discussing racism that serve to protect their positions and maintain racial inequality. Antiracist educator Robin DiAngelo first coined the term “white fragility” in 2011, and since then it’s been invoked by critics from Samantha Bee to Charles Blow. “White fragility” refers…

{New Releases} June 18-24, 2018

Envy by:Victoria Christopher Murray By the NAACP Image Award winner for Outstanding Literary Work and national bestselling author Victoria Christopher Murray, who “creates believable women to whom readers will easily relate” (Library Journal), Envy is a novel inspired by the seven deadly sins: Gabrielle and Adrienne are elated to discover that they are half-sisters, but…

{New Releases} April 23-29, 2018

Creative Quest by: Questlove A unique new guide to creativity from Questlove—inspirations, stories, and lessons on how to live your best creative life. Questlove—musician, bandleader, designer, producer, culinary entrepreneur, professor, and all-around cultural omnivore—shares his wisdom on the topics of inspiration and originality in a one-of-a-kind guide to living your best creative life. In Creative…

{New Releases} April 16-22, 2018

Return To Me by: Jacquelin Thomas For the love of family… The DuGrandpres of Charleston Austin DuGrandpre never had a relationship with his father. Determined that his son—put up for adoption without his knowledge—won’t suffer the same fate, he tracks the young boy to Charleston…and to the home of his sister’s beautiful best friend Bree…